Mass Comm students recognized at Convocation


(Photo: Claire Dew)

by Connor Mauro
Alexa Cassara

The students in the Mass Communications department were recognized for their achievements in and outside of the classroom.

Ms. Susan Silverman, the Division Chair of Visual & Performing Arts, presented the awards.  She also recognized the high honors and honors members in the department.

The Academic Achievement, Journalism, Media Studies, and Media Production awards were presented to seniors who focus in each area.  The awards went to Alyssa Borelli, Zach Murphy, Chelsea Richardson, and Melissa McKinnon.  They were each recognized as the most outstanding in their focus.

“I was honored to receive the award,” said senior Zach Murphy.  “After all these years of hard work it feels great to be recognized.”

The Marrer Award was also presented to junior Stephen Keimig.  The award is presented to a Mass Communication member who demonstrated excellence within as well as outside the classroom.

The Marrer is in honor of the former education professor who founded the Mass Communication department in 1985.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.